# San Angelo Blues Society Scholarship

## **Application**

Applicant: First Name	_ MI	_ Last Name
Address:	_ City:	ZIP:
Home Phone:	Cell Phone:	
Work Phone: Email	l:	
Name of School Enrolled:		Year in School:
Major:	# of hours co	ompleted GPA:
Current Member of San Angelo Blues Society:	Ye	s No (not a requirement)
Has the Application ever received the San Angelo	Blues Society	y Scholarship before? Y/N
What is Applicant's experience and training in blu	e music and	other styles of music?
What is Applicant's most rewarding experience in	blues music	or any other style of music?
What are Applicant's career goals?	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
Sponsor of Applicant: First Name:		Last Name:
Address: Cit	y:	ZIP:
Home Phone:	Cell Phone:	
Work Phone:	Email:	

Return Form to: San Angelo Blues Society Scholarship c/o Karen Cody at <a href="karencody@angelo.edu">karencody@angelo.edu</a> or Cathy Hubbard at <a href="Conchor@suddenlink.net">Conchor@suddenlink.net</a>. DEADLINE: **September 15** 

Questions: Call Dr. Karen Cody at (325) 486-6159 or Cathy Hubbard at (325) 658-5375

#### SAN ANGELO BLUES SOCIETY

The San Angelo Blues Society (SABS) is established for the sole purpose of promoting, education, and preserving blues music. It is our mission to ensure the continuation of blues music by offering educational programs within our community and by preserving locations and artifacts relevant to the history of blues music and its artist. We support blues venues and blues artists through our promotional efforts and participation in blues-related activities and events by encouraging our community to appreciate the historical value and the enjoyment of blues music. SABS hosts jam sessions, local and national groups in concert, and we participate in local community events throughout the year.

#### **Eligibility Requirements for Scholarships**

- Must prove enrollment in an academic program at Angelo State University or Howard College (at least 9 semester credit hours).
- Must have a sponsor: and applicant must complete the Application.
- Must have a particular interest in blues music that has been previously demonstrated.

### **Scholarship Awards for 2019-20**

In the past we have had at least 4 levels of awards. Because of the success of past festivals, during the past two years we have been able to award more than 4 levels of awards. All awards require participation in the awards presentation meeting (usually in October), the Blues Festival in May, and one meeting or event. Higher level of awards also require a presentation in words or music at a general Blues meeting. This presentation should be on Blues music.

## **Blues Scholarship Winners 2018-19**

The Republic Services/Jeff Strahan award in the amount of \$3500 was given to J. Dalton Anderson.

The Michelob/Rod and Denise Bridgeman Honorary award in the amount of \$3000 was given to Will deForest.

The James and Lois Archer Foundation Honorary award in the amount of \$3000 was given to Riley Jarabek.

The Good Keating /Big Rib Award in the amount of \$2500 was given to Joseph Torres.

The Sugg Switch/Henry Benedict award in the amount of \$1250 was given to Ry Ramirez.

The HEB/Jacks award in the amount of \$1250 was given to Nick Martinez.

#### **Previous Scholarship Recipients:**

**2017-18**: Brandon Batten, Will DeForest, Riley Jarabek, Joseph Torres, Logan Lucas, Luis Pena, Sara Baxter

**2016-17**: Mykel Martin, Adam Coffman, Brandon Batten, Satchel Williams, Will DeForest, Dalton Anderson, Andrea Warrick, Riley Jarabek, Rebekah Arana Cook

**2015-16**: Nick Albert, Joseph Firenza, Brandon Batten, Will De Forest, Adrian Gomez, Adam Coffman, Mykel Martin

**2014-15**: Mykel Martin, Ethan Huffman, Adriana Gomez, Dylan Ortega, Adam Coffman, Brandon Batten, William DeForest

**2013-14**: Joe Segovia, Kyle Kelton, Dylan Ortega, Ethan Huffman, Brandon Batten, Dalton Anderson

2012-13: Dylan Ortega, Ethan Huffman

2011-12: Joe Segovia, Dylan Ortega, Anna-Lena Oldehus

**2010-11**: David Engelmann, Brian Melton, Will Schroeder, Joe Segovia, Bob Simpson

**2009-10**: Manny Campos

**2008-09**: Manny Campos